A Random Kindle Blog Post

Okay, it’s a Sunday night and I really should be thinking about getting to bed – it’s going to be an extremely busy week at work (you really think I blog all day?!?), and this fat man can’t stay up as late as he used to these days.

However, sometimes the best intentions fall to the wayside…besides, I can’t sleep right now, so I thought I would ramble on a few topics that are either on my mind or in answer to some of the emails I have received over the last few days.

Length of Free Book Offers

I’ve received quite a few emails and a few negative reviews from people saying the books I’m telling you about aren’t free and they have been charged – I know, it’s a recurring theme some of you have heard me talk about before, but we are getting quite a few new subscribers each day.

The bottom-line is the books are free when I send out the post: I verify that before I push the “post” button.  The problem is no one outside of Amazon or the author knows how long the free book offer will last.  In the last three years, I’ve seen some books be free for over a year, and I have also seen books be free for less than 30 minutes.

I realize it is easy to get in the habit of hitting the link(s) I tell you about each day and select the “Buy now with 1-click” button without thinking about it.  Please make sure you check the pricing and confirm it is free before you hit the buy button or your account will be charged!

How Many Kindles Do I Own?

I get this question from time-to-time, and after buying a new car this week I stopped to count them up (more on the new car in a later post).  I guess the good news is I don’t have as many as I used to, the bad news is I have more Kindle devices than I do people in my household (maybe if you threw in the dog and the fish it might even up).  Here’s what I have today in my house:

3 Kindle Fires

2 Kindle Keyboards with 3G (formerly known as the Kindle 3 or K3)

1 Kindle DX

1 Kindle Wi-Fi

1 Kindle Touch 3G

Why so many?  The answer I give my wife is I need to have one of each so I can review them for the blog as well as to test how the blog appears on each of their screens.  A better answer is when the Fire came out, I got one for me and Santa Claus brought one for each of the kids on Christmas Day which resulted in three of us having two Kindle devices each.

I have tested, read from, and played with each of them quite a bit and each has pluses and minuses over the other. For pure reading, I like the DX better as you can put a heck of a lot more on the screen; I switch between it and my K3 all of the time.  I also got my first pair of prescription glasses for reading only last month, and the DX is a lot easier for me to read as (a) I really don’t like wearing the glasses, (b) I don’t want to stop and hunt for them, and (c) when you put a larger font on the DX you don’t have to push the next page button as frequently as the K3.  Call me lazy for not wanting to push the button so many times…

I read just a little bit on the Fire, as I mainly use it to play games.  My kids, however, are eating up the Fire between reading books, playing games, and watching movies.

I like the Kindle Wi-Fi, but don’t use it much because I read on the other devices.  I do, however, check it frequently as I have taken advantage of some of the special offers that are displayed as a screen saver.  The best coupon I have used to date was when Amazon ran a promotion of getting a $20 Amazon gift card for just $10.  Seeing as how the unit only cost me $79, that was similar to lowering the price down to $69.

As I’ve said before, I can’t stand the Kindle Touch, although you may think it is the best thing since sliced bread.  Rather than enumerate the reasons again in this post, just check out my review of the unit on the Amazon website!  I’m tempted to sell the darn thing on eBay.

My wife, unfortunately, is addicted to her iPad and gave up her Kindle 2 a while ago (the Kindle 2 died an untimely death after it was dropped one to many times).  I know, it’s really sad to hear of the Kindle guy’s spouse turning to the competition – but I will say she does use the free Kindle reading application all of the time!  Now if I could just get her to read this blog….

What Am I Reading Now?

I’m asked this all of the time – if you realized how often I switch genres, you might say I have some strange tastes.  Right now, I am reading a two-book collection by Louis L’Amour called Shalako and Catlow – you can click here or type in http://amzn.to/AoofZi into your computer’s web browser to see it.

I love Louis L’Amour, and have probably read each of his novels half a dozen times each growing up.  I still have most of them in paperback, but they are in a box in the attic and I really don’t feel like rooting around up there to dig them out (yes, call me lazy again) so I bought the Kindle version – the paperbacks are about 30-40 years old and are starting to come apart, so it’s probably time to get rid of them, but they are like old friends: I wrote in them when I was little, they are creased here and there, and like most packrats I have a hard time getting rid of things.  However, I am slowly restocking the digital shelf with these same titles as one Kindle is easier to tote around than a box full of books!

How Do I Find the Free Books?

Over the last two weeks, many people have asked me how I find out about the free book offerings, and how do I know they are “new” freebies for a particular day.

It’s a trade secret!

Actually, it’s not a secret at all – I have two methods.  The first is I wrote a simple script to go check the Amazon listings for books prized at zero and dump it into an Excel file.  I do a quick comparison for the previous day’s file, and there you have it.

The second is independent authors are starting to let me know when their books are going to be free – if it sounds like something I would be interested in, as well as what I think you would be interested in, plus has a fairly high customer rating I will more likely than not post it for you to check out.

Anyway, that’s probably enough rambling for now.  If you made it this far without nodding off, congratulations!

Here’s to hoping everyone has a great week this week-

Michael

Want to have this blog sent wirelessly to your Kindle vs. reading it on your computer? Try out the free two-week subscription!  Click here for the Amazon page for Free Kindle Books Plus a Few Other Tips or type in http://www.tinyurl.com/fkblog into your computer’s web browser.

Check out my new Kindle guide, Kindle Fire How-To Guide: Your Guide to Tips, Tricks, Free Books, and Startup.  You can check it out if you click here or type in http://amzn.to/firebook into your computer’s web browser.

11 Comments

Filed under Misc. and Random Stuff

11 responses to “A Random Kindle Blog Post

  1. Sherry Krafve Svec

    I don’t have a Kindle yet but will order one this week. My niece turned me on to your blog. Thanks, it’s very informative. I recommend Louis L’Amour’s biography, it’s one of the 2 most enjoyable bios I’ve read. I have it in paperback. If you can’t find it, let me know and I’ll let you borrow it.

    • Michael Gallagher

      Sherry-

      Good to hear from you. I have read his autobiography – he certainly had an interesting and full life!

      Regards,

      Michael

  2. Gary

    Your blog is great, you amaze me with all your listings and your dedication.
    Keep up the good work.

    Thank You

  3. Jean

    Thank you for doing what you do.
    From an even lazier kindle lover that is too lazy to even search for free books.

  4. Rosa

    Your blog rocks! I got the basic $79 Kindle Wi-Fi at the first of this year as a belated Christmas present to myself. LOVE it. My sis has the Kindle Touch, and I agree- I like mine much better. I’ve found that I really love to email books to myself- it’s much more convenient than hooking everything up manually to dump things on there. From what I’ve read and experienced, I understand that emailing books to my Wi-Fi Kindle is free; only the 3G models charge the .15, right? Just thought I would clarify.

    I’m pretty sure I’ve created a monster. Two of my kids are avid readers, so now both my 14yo son and 10yo daughter are wanting one. Good thing they both have upcoming birthdays!

  5. BJ Lawrence

    I can hardly thank you enough for what you do! Every morning I check to see which books you have listed as free. I got the 1st Generation when it first came out and I got the Fire for Christmas. I am in hog heaven!! Again, THANK YOU!!!

  6. good post! I read you everyday!

  7. How do I find your review of the Kindle Touch?

  8. Michael you are doing a GREAT JOB , thank you very much . Jeane

Leave a Reply

