Your Kindle is a Watch

Here’s one a lot of you may know about – if you do, you’re going to say “so what?” Or, if you did know about it maybe you forgot? On the other hand, I’m willing to bet a lot of you don’t know about it as I had an informal, unscientific poll at work: in other words, I asked three people who own Kindles in the office if they knew, and they didn’t – hence this post. There’s also a few million new Kindle owners out there after this week!

Did you know you can have your Kindle tell you the time? You can, and each time you turn the wireless on, when it synchs with the cell phone tower it updates the internal clock. If you’re like me, time can quickly get away from you when you are engrossed in a novel and you’re not wearing your watch….and you’ll be really tired the next morning!

For you Kindle 1 / Original Kindle owners, to have the Kindle display the time press the “ALT” and “T” buttons simultaneously and the correct time will show on top.

For the Kindle 2 / 3 and Kindle DX owners – just press the Menu button and you will see the correct time on the top line, right in the center of the screen.

Want to have this blog sent wirelessly to your Kindle vs. reading it on your computer? Try out the free two-week subscription!  Click here for the Amazon page for Free Kindle Books Plus a Few Other Tipsor type in http://www.tinyurl.com/fkblog into your computer’s web browser.

Click here for my “Kindle Tips, Tricks, and Shortcuts” book or type in http://amzn.to/seDbUq into your computer’s web browser and learn a new thing or two about your Kindle!

9 Comments

Filed under Kindle Tips

9 responses to “Your Kindle is a Watch

  1. Barbara

    What’s annoying, though, is that to see the time when you are playing a game, you have to get out of the game to get the menu with the time on it…. Life is so tough!!!!!!

  2. Kevin

    And on the Kindle Touch, simply touch near the top to bring up the Menu, Search bar, etc., and the time is displayed on the top right-hand corner.

  3. Sandy Heavener

    Happy New Year, Michael!

    Just wanted to say I am so grateful for your blog. I have gotten so many free books and really appreciate your time in posting these.

    Thanks again. I look forward to your emails every day!

  4. Thank you! I didn’t know, and I’ve always wished the Kindle showed the time.

  5. I’d prefer to get your newsletter in my Kindle instead of email, but when I follow the link you have, it says not available in Canada. Just thought I’d let you know. I’ll keep subscribing in email, but if there is any way you can fix that it would be great!

    • Michael Gallagher

      Sherri-

      Unfortunately, there is not much I can do about it! For now, please keep on with the email option and if Amazon ever opens up Canada believe me – I will tell everyone on the blog!

      Regards,

      Michael

  6. Melanie

    You press the menu button for the Kindle 4 also. I really love this feature!

  7. jo

    my seven year old son taught me this. lol. he is amazingly techno. he loves my kindle! esp the games! kids are amazing!

Leave a Reply

