Your Kindle is a Proofer

Kindle owners do lots of things with their Kindles – some this you may already know how to do, but there may be a lot of you who never thought to do it. There is a discussion thread going on over at the Amazon site where members are posting some of the random things they do with their Kindles in addition to “just” reading books. I will be profiling some of these over the next few weeks – after all, part of the title line of this blog is supposed to be about Kindle tips vs. just a feature on free books!

Here’s one of the tips from the discussion board:

The Kindle is going to be an important part of the process I use to edit my novels. I recently dug out a manuscript I hadn’t looked at in five years with the intent of whipping it into shape and sending it to market. Instead of lugging around almost 800 pages in a big binder, inspiration struck and I emailed the Word doc to my Kindle.

Reading it there was an amazing experience – I was able to detach almost completely from the fact that it was a manuscript, probably because my brain is wired to accept what’s on the Kindle as a “real book”. It was like having the finished book in my hand. And when I tried Text To Speech with the manuscript (don’t worry, I gave myself permission), you’d have thought I was listening to an audio book narrated by James Earl Jones.

So in the future, I plan to use the Kindle to review my early drafts before beginning the process of editing.

Want to have this blog sent wirelessly to your Kindle vs. reading it on your computer? Try out the free two-week subscription!  Click here for the Amazon page for Free Kindle Books Plus a Few Other Tipsor type in http://www.tinyurl.com/fkblog into your computer’s web browser.

Click here for my “Kindle Tips, Tricks, and Shortcuts” book or type in http://amzn.to/seDbUq into your computer’s web browser and learn a new thing or two about your Kindle!

 

3 Comments

Filed under Kindle Tips

3 responses to “Your Kindle is a Proofer

  1. Sorry to post a comment here. Feel free to delete it but I have looked all through my emails and your blog and cannot find a way to contact Michael directly. I came across an AWESOME free tool for the Kindle. I am in no way connected with it and it’s free, but I thought it would be best to mention it in a not-public forum. You have my email, so I’ll let you contact me if you are interested in checking it out.

  2. Steven Seiller

    This can work well as I have done this many times. Further, you can use the annotating tools on the Kindle to ‘edit’ the document with comments and notes. (this is when I appreciate the keyboard on my Kindle 3!)

    Recently, I exceeded the number of annotations allowed in the document and couldn’t retrieve them all! (Some day I should look up how many that is….)

Leave a Reply

