Thank You!

In a post yesterday (click here or type in http://bit.ly/uFkRJX into your computer’s web browser), I challenged – some would say begged – you to purchase my new book, Kindle Fire How-To Guide: Your Guide to Tips, Tricks, Free Books, and Startup.  Rather than a traditional beg, I threw in a sweetener where I said I would donate 100% of the royalties over a 24 hour period to the Ronald McDonald House of Houston, which is located right next door to the Texas Children’s Hospital.  Well, the 24 hour period is officially over and it is time to tally the results.

Prior to pushing the “publish” button last night, I was wondering how much would be raised.  I had our prior experiences to refer back to, where the blog readers participated in a similar promotion I ran and we collectively raised money for charities like the Salvation Army’s Christmas Kettle Campaign and the East Texas Food Bank.  Each of those campaigns ran a little longer than the 24 hours I put on this one, so I guesstimated we would raise about $150 or so.

Even though I am a mild-mannered accountant by day – I even got my very first pair of prescription glasses last week to fit the stereotype – I obviously have a very difficult time forecasting something like book sales as my $150 guess wouldn’t even have been close if we were playing horseshoes, shooting skeet, or any other colorful phrase you can think of where precision is not necessary.

So, how did we do?  A lot of the blog readers kindly stepped up and purchased the book, so try this one on for size: exactly $467.99!!!

Wow, I am really overwhelmed at the outpouring of support from each of you!  Your purchase will enable a lot of children and their families have a little bit of a better stay in what will be one of the most difficult and traumatic times in their lives.  If you missed the promotion, or want to learn more about the Houston Ronald McDonald House of Houston, just click here or type in http://www.rmhhouston.org into your computer’s web browser.

Thanks again!

Michael

Want to have this blog sent wirelessly to your Kindle vs. reading it on your computer? Try out the free two-week subscription!  Click here for the Amazon page for Free Kindle Books Plus a Few Other Tips.

Check out my new Kindle guide, Kindle Fire How-To Guide: Your Guide to Tips, Tricks, Free Books, and Startup.  You can check it out if you click here or type in http://amzn.to/firebook into your computer’s web browser.

 

3 Comments

Filed under Misc. and Random Stuff

3 responses to “Thank You!

  1. No, thank you Michael, for making a wonderful donation to such a great cause.

    Lee

  2. Carol Dingwell

    I loved your book and would have bought it no matter where the money went. I hope everyone who bought a Kindle Fire will eventually find it and order one. I have learned so much from your blog that I have been reading for sometime and know I will learn a lot from this manual.

  3. Tricia Douglas

    Super job, Michael. I was visiting my wonderful grandsons, so missed your blog message. But I did buy the offering that you had at Thanksgiving time. Keep up the energy and expertise that resounds through your blog each day. Blessings and love to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

