Random Kindle Thoughts (aka, a Rambling Post)

OK, I’m sitting here during lunch staring at the walls and randomly thinking of stuff I really meant to post about this week, but the Time Bandits visited and stole away all of my “spare” time (it’s been awhile, probably when I worked at the failed dot.com 10+ years ago since I have even uttered the Time Bandits phrase).  I’ve been pretty busy over the last few weeks working on a major project I’ll discuss in a later post, so I have a lot of catching up to do.

So, here are some random thoughts as you are wondering about what to read next as well as what to give as a last-minute Christmas gift (and I know most of you have a few more things you “need” to purchase).

Free Books in Amazon Kindle Store

There continues to be 300 – 400 new free books per day offered in the Amazon Kindle store: it’s way more than I can tell you about in individual, or even a summarized series of posts.  What I’ve been doing is looking through the new offerings each morning and trying to cull out the ones with little to no user ratings as well as a an attempt to provide a good mixture of genres so that there aren’t, as an example, 10 romance titles in one day (I’m also putting an effective ban on Vampire books – how many twists and deviations from the Twilight series can there be in this world?).

I may miss some that would interest you, primarily because a particular book may not have made my non-scientific cut of focusing on highly-rated books.  That’s why I created the search link so you can see all of the free non-public domain books being offered in the Amazon Kindle store.  I’ve said it before but it bears repeating: bookmark the link below:

http://amzn.to/bookload

I’ve received a couple of comments from people saying the books I am posting about as free aren’t free by the time they check out the offer.  Long-time readers will understand this next comment, but you need to verify the book is still free after you click on the link in my posts: there is no published schedule indicating how long a book will be offered for free – sometimes it lasts less than an hour, and sometimes a book will be offered for free for a couple of years (seriously).  I’ve been guilty of clicking the “buy” button without checking to see if the price is still free, also, so I understand how it can be frustrating!

 

Kindle Shipping Guaranteed Before Christmas

If you get your order in before 8:00 Pacific time today, Amazon will ensure delivery no later than December 24th, and shipping is free.  You can always pay more for one day shipping and have it by tomorrow (Thursday), but I do like the sound of free.  Here are links to the four new Kindles announced in September 2011 (and allegedly most popular for giving this year)

 

Amazon Gift Cards

Gentlemen, this section is for you (and me, since I just did this personally 15 minutes ago):

As a stereotypical guy, I love the beauty and simplicity of gift cards.  With Amazon’s gift cards, I could theoretically get one and print it out with my home computer and printer on Christmas Day before I went over for Christmas lunch and the recipient would not be the wiser to my procrastination unless I confessed to it (not that I would do that).

In addition to printing them out at anytime, they can be emailed to the recipient.  Amazon is also offering free one-day shipping if you want one of the hard plastic cards and gift envelopes or boxes with your gift card.  Here’s your link so you won’t miss it and have a mad Aunt Dottie who is wondering why you didn’t bring her a present this year: http://amzn.to/tPKzX3

Have a great rest of the afternoon-

Michael

Want to have this blog sent wirelessly to your Kindle vs. reading it on your computer? Try out the free two-week subscription!  Click here for the Amazon page for Free Kindle Books Plus a Few Other Tips.

Looking for more or a reliable source of free books for your Kindle?  Click here for my “Free Kindle Books and How to Find Them book (updated November 2011 for the release of the Kindle Fire!).

 

4 Comments

Filed under Free Book Links, Free From Amazon Store, Kindle Tips, Misc. and Random Stuff

4 responses to “Random Kindle Thoughts (aka, a Rambling Post)

  1. I have to say the idea of “time bandits” made me chuckle. I think there has been an infestation over the past few weeks and doubt it will be under control until Mid January.
    I can see where you feel you have to set some limits on your time. IE: Banning vampire books, but something tells me they would not be such a plethora unless there was a market. I happen to be a fan and it is amazing how many different ideas authors have come up with. Not to worry though, you have given me enough knowledge to find them on my own.
    The matter of book prices changing is true, and certainly not your fault. I must say I do not like how they got rid of the cancel this purchase button in addition to showing a large $0.00 for Amazon prime member and the actually price over the buy button. The print is so tiny I have had to call customer service after unwittingly buying something and not being able to cancel it. I don’t think they realize how many of us shop via our Kindles.
    Thanks for the great job. I have recommended your blog to several of my friends who say it is wonderful.

    • Michael Gallagher

      Thanks for your reply. You’re right on the vampire thing – if people weren’t buying them, they wouldn’t be written!

      have a great Christmas and New Year-

      Michael

  2. Ernie Beckley

    Thanks for the link to free Kindle books. Is there a way to construct the search such that erotica is excluded? I don’t have anything against it, but 1) I don’t read it and 2) there is a LOT of it out there. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

