Random Kindle Thoughts

I thought I would ramble a bit in this blog post, so please bear with me…

Kindle Book Lending Update

In a post on the 8th, I asked each of you to please borrow one of my books for free from the Amazon Kindle store (click here or type in http://bit.ly/rZ2h5h into your computer’s web browser to read the post again) as Amazon was having a contest, and would be splitting up $500,000 for the month of December to all authors participating in the program.  Basically, Amazon will award a portion of that pot to me based upon the number of my books borrowed (the numerator) divided by the total number of books borrowed for all authors (the denominator), with that resulting number multiplied by the $500,000 pot.

I have no idea how many books have been borrowed for the denominator portion, or if I will get more than a few pennies because every other independent author is also participating in the program, but I did promise you an update as to the number of my books borrowed: as of last night, there have been 472 “borrows” of my books.  Some might say I had 472 lost sales, but I doubt that’s really true; if it were true, while $100 is a lot of money it’s not like it was really “lost” as I never had it from the start.

I’ll keep you updated on the progress – and if you would like to borrow one of my books, please feel free and borrow away!

Amazon Prime Program

For some people, one of the drawbacks to the lending program mentioned above is you have to be a member of Amazon’s Prime program in order to be able to borrow a book from Amazon.  You might be a member of Amazon’s Prime program and not realize it, or you may not know you can enjoy the benefits of the Prime program for free for a month…read on:

For those of you unfamiliar with Amazon’s Prime Membership program, the major benefits include:

  • You receive free two-day shipping, or just $3.99 for next day shipping, on all purchases fulfilled by Amazon.  This includes more than just books and CD’s, but the really heavy items such as power tools and appliances.
  • You can borrow one Kindle book from the Amazon Kindle store for free each month from the Kindle Owners’ Lending Library.
  • You can have unlimited streaming of thousands of movies and TV shows with Amazon Prime instant videos.

I’ve been a member of Amazon Prime for several years, and it has more than paid for itself not only with the number of things I purchase from Amazon, but I have paid just $3.99 for overnight shipping of things that weigh over 100 pounds!

There is, of course, a cost to being a member of Amazon Prime: as of this writing, membership costs $79 per year.  If you order frequently from Amazon like I do, the Prime membership pays for itself quickly.  With the thousands of movies and TV shows available for unlimited free streaming, the cost of the Prime membership pays for itself even more quickly when you consider how much it costs to rent or purchase movie and TV episodes from Amazon or even Blockbuster.

Before you rush out and purchase a Prime membership, please note you may already be able to enjoy a free one-month membership: as of this writing, Amazon is giving away a free one-month trial of Prime to each person who purchases a Kindle Fire.  If you missed that promotion (maybe your Kindle Fire was a gift), Amazon will let any registered Amazon member try out Prime membership for free for a one-month period.

Either way, I highly recommend you try out the Prime membership for free – after all, you want to watch movies and TV shows on your Kindle Fire, and free sounds pretty good to me vs. buying episodes while you try out the video experiences on your Kindle Fire.

To check out the one-month free trial of Amazon Prime and to have access to the free movies and TV shows available for your Kindle Fire, just click here or type in http://amzn.to/primetrial into your computer’s web browser.

Christmas Holiday

I just wanted to give you the heads-up my family and I will be traveling for Christmas for an entire week, starting the afternoon of December 26th: I will be in areas that have limited Internet access and may not reply timely to emails or replies to posts, and I might be a little delayed on sending out free book offers.  I will, however, have posts setup to be sent in advance so it will be like I am still sitting in front of my computer and you will wake up to a new post.

Regardless of your faith or not, I do hope everyone has a safe and fun Christmas to New Year’s week, and here’s to hoping 2012 is a heck of a lot better than 2011!  I’ve enjoyed publishing this blog and having you as a part of my life, and I hope you’ve found some great book offers and learned a few things about your Kindle in the process!

Michael

Want to have this blog sent wirelessly to your Kindle vs. reading it on your computer? Try out the free two-week subscription!  Click here for the Amazon page for Free Kindle Books Plus a Few Other Tips.

Check out our Facebook page and give us a “like” by clicking here or typing in http://www.facebook.com/fkbooksandtips into your computer’s web browser!

10 Comments

Filed under Kindle Tips, Misc. and Random Stuff

10 responses to “Random Kindle Thoughts

  1. Marilyn Heath

    Merry Christmas to you, Michael! I hope your family has a safe & joy filled holiday. You are by far my favorite blogger in the Kindle family. Ive tried several blogs & cancelled all but yours. I own the Kindle 3 & the Kindle Fire. I look forward to many more freebies in 2012. MERRY CHR8TMAS!!

  2. Thanks for all your diligent work. Free reading material is great. Oh, and Merry Christmas!

  3. Carol

    I do hope you and your family have a wonderful Christmas, in whatever ways you celebrate it. I’m trying to keep our Christmas celebrations as stress free as possible, since I provide assisted living for my parents in my home. I suspect the highlight of our Dec. 25th will be a simple dinner and a Christmas prayer to thank Him for His help and provision this year, and to ask for new mercies for the coming year.

    Thank you for your blog. Every morning before sunrise I open about a dozen web pages to start my day. Yours is always the first, as I sip coffee and hope to find a good book to add to my Pandigital Novel or iPod. I don’t have a lot of time for reading so I’m particular about my selections. Your blog has been very helpful with your reviews and summaries and pointing out the various free books of the day. So again, thank you!

    • Michael Gallagher

      Carol-

      Thank you for the kind words, I appreciate it, and I hope you and your family have a great Christmas and woderful 2012.

      Regards,

      Michael

  4. Michael, thanks for everything you do for your subscribers. I talk about your blog and recommend it all the time. It has been more than worth it to have been a subscriber this past year. I pray that God will give you and your family safe travels and that you have a wonderful Christmas.

    Merry Christmas from Maine and God bless!

  5. Peggy

    Michael, I just want to say how much I appreciate and enjoy your blog. Happy Holidays to you and your family.
    Thanks for the diligent posts!
    Peggy

Leave a Reply

