Answering Your Kindle Email Questions

In case you’re tired of the free Kindle book offers over the past couple of days, I thought I would change this post up a bit.  Of course, you can see the 3,000+ non-public domain free books if you click here or type in http://amzn.to/bookload into your computer’s web browser at any time – you may want to bookmark this link as you can check back on the Kindle store at your leisure.  With al of the books coming out for free rapid-fire, you can use this link without having to wait on me to send out a post.

I’ve received a lot of emails asking me to send people the links I’ve told you about in previous posts as people are trying to find the “perfect” gift for people for Christmas, so I thought I would summarize the most-requested ones in this post: my thought is if as many of you took the time to email me the question, there are probably even more of you who have the same question but just haven’t contacted me.  You can reach me by shooting an email to kindle at gagler dot com (I type it that way in a small effort to thwart the spammers’ robots).

 

Amazon Gift Cards

I admit it, the Amazon gift card (and gift cards in general) make great gifts. Sure, it is an easy way out but I like giving as well as receiving them.  They can be printed out immediately so you can give to the recipient, emailed to anyone you choose, or Amazon will physically mail you a hard plastic card with one day shipping for free.  Here’s a quick link to open up the Amazon gift card store: http://amzn.to/tPKzX3

What’s new for this year (or maybe it is just new to me) is if you order one of the $50 gift cards, Amazon will put it in a hard cardboard gift box and include a greeting card along with free one-day shipping: I just ordered a couple of these for gifts.  Just choose the mail option if you click the http://amzn.to/tPKzX3 link.

 

Micro USB Cords

While the Kindle Fire does ship with a micro-usb charger, it is not convertible to a USB cord you can hook up to your computer to transfer songs, books, and other files from your computer to your Kindle Fire.  If you have a Kindle 2, 3 (now called the keyboard), DX, or Touch, you already have a micro USB cord that can hook up to your computer and your Fire – just take off the part that plugs into an electrical socket – don’t spend your money on one unless you want an extra.  You may want to check the type of plug that charges your cell phone as that might work on your Kindle – mine does (I have a Motorola Droid phone) and works well.

If you do want an extra micro-USB cord (I have several) don’t do something silly and go to Best Buy or a place like that to purchase one because they are very expensive there at around $20.  The Amazon site has them for $5.99 if you click here or type in http://amzn.to/smallusb into your computer’s web browser.  I like this one not only because of the price, but it is six feet long and gives me a little room to move the Kindle around vs. tripping me up in various places.

 

Black Friday Deals

Many people have pointed out to me the Black Friday Deals page has been retitled the “Top Holiday Deals” page, and the discounted deals last for about 4 hours each.  A few folks pointed out they were able to get some Kindle accessories such as covers and lights for a discounted price during one of the deal times.  I didn’t see any when I checked, but that’s probably the nature of the deal.  You can check it out for yourself if you click here or type in http://amzn.to/amazonbfriday into your computer’s web browser.  As these deals change every hour, you may want to bookmark this link, too.

 

Kindle Book Lending Program

I told you about the free Kindle Book Lending program in a post a few days ago (click here or type in http://bit.ly/rZ2h5h into your computer’s web browser to see this post again), and several of you had some questions.  To clarify, it is my experience you can only borrow one book per month from the Amazon store for free but several of you have said you have been able to borrow multiple books.  Maybe they have found a loophole or bug in the lending program that doesn’t exist for everyone (especially me), so you may want to try it out and see for yourself if you haven’t tried the lending program already.

Have a great rest of your weekend!

Michael

Want to have this blog sent wirelessly to your Kindle vs. reading it on your computer? Try out the free two-week subscription!  Click here for the Amazon page for Free Kindle Books Plus a Few Other Tips.

Looking for more or a reliable source of free books for your Kindle?  Click here for my “Free Kindle Books and How to Find Them book (updated November 2011 for the release of the Kindle Fire!).

 

2 Comments

Filed under Kindle Tips, Misc. and Random Stuff

2 responses to “Answering Your Kindle Email Questions

  1. BJ Lawrence

    I Thank you AGAIN for sharing such important information with me. I am so incredibly technology challenged but you make everything very understandable. Thanks again!!!

  2. Liz

    On the topic of micro-USB cords and chargers: I had recently become frustrated with the quantity of various micro-USB chargers I had around my house and office, and was wondering why some chargers are able to charge some things, but not others. After purchasing the Fire, I was once again stumped by the fact that my cell phone charger and Kindle 2 charger had the same connector, but would not charge the Fire. The Fire charger, however, would charge them. Why? Well, I finally checked the rated outputs of the chargers; although all are giving an output of 5V, there’s various amp outputs among the collection. The Fire’s amp output is 1.8A. while my Smartphone’s output is 0.7A. The higher-amperage chargers can be used with devices that require a lower amperage, since they will only draw what they need.

    Eureka! So I ordered another charger: it’s an Amazon Basics USB charger with an output of 2.1A. I can use it together with a micro-USB cable (or for that matter, a mini-USB cable for my older electronics) and be able to charge the Fire, smartphone, Kindle 2, etc etc in the living room, while keeping the “official” Fire charger upstairs for when I need it there.

    Just thought I’d pass that along, in case I’m not the only person confused by all the variety in micro-USB chargers!

Leave a Reply

