I Need Every Kindle Owner’s Help!

I thought the title of this post would get your attention…

About a month ago, I had a post on the ability to borrow books for free from the Amazon Kindle store (click here or type in http://bit.ly/vJGJFf into your computer’s web browser to see the post again).  It’s relatively easy to do, and many of you have taken advantage of the feature to save some money.  The only caveat is you must be a Prime Member: Amazon offers a free trial of Prime or, if you own a Kindle Fire you were automatically enrolled for a free trial membership.

Amazon has had some understandable pushback from publishers participating in the program, so today they announced via press release a new program for independent authors who publish Kindle titles to participate in the lending program, also.

Amazon has agreed to provide a pool of money (actually $500,000) for independent authors who participate in the lending program to be split based upon December statistics in the lending program.  The payout of the prize pool is a relatively straight-forward calculation: every title an author has that was borrowed in the month of December is divided by the total number of December “borrows” in the program, multiplied by $500,000.

I wouldn’t mind a slice of that pie, and here’s where I need your help: please borrow my self-published books for free, of course, from the Amazon store!  You’ll get a free book to read, and I will have one more chance to win a little prize money and pay for Christmas.  It should take less than a minute of your time, and you can borrow my books for free if you follow these steps using your Kindle (not your computer):

  • Make sure your Kindle’s wireless feature is on.
  • Press the “Menu” button.
  • Select the “Shop in Kindle Store” option.
  • Select the “Books” option.
  • Type in my name (Michael Gallagher) using the keyboard or the touchscreen if you have a Kindle Fire or Kindle Touch and press the five way controller or the Enter key (the one that looks like an arrow pointing left), or the Go option if you have a Kindle Fire.
  • A listing of my books will show up.  If you look on the right-hand side of each title, the books available to borrow for free have a logo that has a checkmark next to the word “Prime.”  Select one of those books and open the description.
  • You can see the book details, and on the right-hand side of the screen, just under the “Buy” icon is a “Borrow for Free” icon.  Move your five-way controller to the “Borrow for Free” icon and select it, or if you have a Kindle Fire or Kindle Touch just tap the icon.
  • After a few seconds the book will show up on your Kindle.

Of course, there are other authors participating in the lending program and they may be of interest to you, also.  Try out the “borrow” from Amazon feature and read something for free, whether it is one of my titles or something else – but as I type this (with a big grin on my face), I sure hope you borrow one of my books first!

I’ll be posting about this again during the month for a couple of reasons – obviously to get more people to borrow my books and help me be eligible for a greater portion of the prize – but to let you know how many titles were borrowed: I figure if I am asking you to help me earn some money, I might as well tell you how much you earned for me!

Have a great rest of the afternoon-

Michael

19 Comments

Filed under Kindle Tips, Misc. and Random Stuff

19 responses to “I Need Every Kindle Owner’s Help!

  1. Karen C

    I would have been happy to do this, however, I don’t have a Kindle (yet).

  2. Mary

    Well, darn, I’d love to help you, Michael, but I’ve already borrowed my book for December. As I understand it, we can only borrow one book per calendar month and I’ve already got one checked out. Sorry! I’ll keep my fingers crossed that you can get a piece of that pie anyway 🙂

    • Michael Gallagher

      Mary-

      Thanks for your reply. They are also running the promotion for all of 2012, so you can grab it then!

      Thanks-

      Michael

  3. iliana

    Does this require us to be Prime Members or is this ‘trial’ free from the caveat? Thanks!

    Oh and thanks for showing us free books and tips! I ❤ this blog!

    • Michael Gallagher

      You have to be a Prime member, butt they are offering a one-month free trial to Prime to check it out. If you order a lot from Amazon, you should check it out as teh shipping savings will more than offset the cost of a Prime membership.

  4. Dave Stewart

    Mike: Just followed your guidance and borrowed on of your books. Good luck.
    Dave Stewart
    Germany

  5. Patricia Bray

    Don’t you have to be physically in the U.S. to take advantage of that loan program?

    • Michael Gallagher

      You don’t have to be physically in the US, but you need to be a US Amazon customer.

      • P.Bray

        Oh, that’s right. Now I remember why I can’t take advantage of the loan program; it’s because some dirtbag stole my Kindle (along with everything else in my purse), so I had to remove it from my Amazon account, and I now use Kindle for PC. Since I am now in a foreign country, free shipping in the U.S. doesn’t help me much either; I can’t afford to send out lots of gifts.

  6. BJ Lawrence

    Thank you for everything you do that helps me every single day! It is my pleasure to be able to help you in this small way. My library is full of books I can’t wait to read! It is a privilege to borrow one of yours!

  7. Linda

    Good job Michael. I appreciate your emails.

  8. John Reasons

    Done and glad to do it. Thanks for the great blog.

  9. Barbara Buskovitz

    Hi,
    I’m new to this setting & just received a Kindle Touch as an early Christmas gift. I also am trying out Prime membership. I’m a little confused about some features; however, how many books can I borrow a month if its only 1 per month what happens if I borrowed more than 1? Plus tell me what is the shortcut to delete a book ?

    • Michael Gallagher

      Barbara-

      You should only be able to borrow one each month.

      To delete a book on the Kindle Touch, from the Home screen just press and hold the book title’s name. A new menu will open, and you will want to chhose “Move to Archive Items” which will take it off of your Kindle. The archive is stored on Amazon’s servers, and you can always re-download it to your Kindle.

      Hope that helps-

      Michael

  10. John

    Just ‘borrowed’ one of your books. Want to thank you for you blog and all tha great info and leads you pass on. Have a great holiday.

    John

  11. Jan McCoy

    I do not have a Kindle. I use the ap on my iPhone and iPad2. I want you to know that I appreciate your postings and all your efforts that keep me in touch with so many great reads. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

