Random Thoughts and Answers to Your Emailed Kindle (and Other) Questions

Looking over this post prior to pushing the “schedule” button (I’m setting it up to go out in the afternoon), this has a few random comments…

 

Apps for Your Kindle Fire – Bookmark This Link

Okay, so you’re sitting there wondering what to do with your Kindle Fire (just kidding), and wondering about what apps to put on the darn thing.

Amazon has a store for Droid applications (called The App Store) that can be downloaded not only on your Kindle Fire but with any Droid device like my cell phone.  Here’s a link to bookmark to check it out: http://amzn.to/theappstore

There are a lot of free apps in the app store, so make sure you check it out.  Amazon also features one app that usually costs some bucks for free, and features it for one day only.  Today’s free app is called Bejeweled 2 by Electronic Arts (it’s normally $2.99).  I haven’t played it yet on my Kindle Fire yet, although I’ve clicked the button to get it, but I have played it quite a bit on Facebook so let me warn you now: it is highly addictive and fun, especially if you start playing games against your friends.

Here’s the link: http://amzn.to/theappstore

I’ve bookmarked this link and have been checking it most days.

Have fun with your Kindle Fire!

 

Kindle Fire and Touch Reviews on Amazon

There have been a lot of comments on the reviews I posted on the Amazon website regarding both the Kindle Fire and Kindle Touch.  Generally, the results have been positive, but some people were annoyed with me (based upon emailed comments) that I called the Kindle Touch baby ugly.  Now, no one likes to hear their pride and joy has some shortcomings – but the review reflects my opinion, and mine only: your results may vary.  That’s why I tried to spell out in words what I liked and didn’t like about it vs. just having a title and a 3-star rating: everyone has a different grading scale.

After a few more comments come in to both the Amazon page and the blog interface (mainly in the form of questions), I will try to summarize them in a post here with my responses.

If you would like to see some of the comments on the reviews as they are posted on the Amazon website, you need to scroll down to the bottom of the review as the comments start there.  Some are pretty funny.

Kindle Fire review: http://amzn.to/firereview

Kindle Touch review: http://amzn.to/touchreview

 

Black Friday Deals

Many people, including my wife, think I know what the Black Friday Deals are going to be in advance because I was able to tell you about a deal that was starting off later in the day.  I don’t (honey, honest, I don’t)!

You have just as much information as I do if you look at the Amazon page: they tell you what the next deal is going to be, so please bookmark this link: http://amzn.to/amazonbfriday

 

Free Kindle Books / This Blog on Your Kindle Fire

Yes, the books I tell you about for free here on the blog can be downloaded and read on your Kindle Fire.  No, Amazon does not have a subscription-based push service for blogs for the Kindle Fire like they do on other Kindles.  I don’t know why: I have asked via the only method of communication blog publishers have with Amazon, but they have not responded.  In the interim, if you would like to read the blog on your Kindle Fire, you can point your web browser to https://fkbt.wordpress.com

Have a great rest of the week-

Michael

Want to have this blog sent wirelessly to your Kindle vs. reading it on your computer? Try out the free two-week subscription!  Click here for the Amazon page for Free Kindle Books Plus a Few Other Tips.

Looking for more or a reliable source of free books for your Kindle?  Click here for my “Free Kindle Books and How to Find Them book (updated November 2011 for the release of the Kindle Fire!).

 

1 Comment

Filed under Kindle Tips, Misc. and Random Stuff

One response to “Random Thoughts and Answers to Your Emailed Kindle (and Other) Questions

  1. Michael, although people complain about many things, just keep on doing what you’re doing in your posts…!!! I bought a Kindle 3G(loved it) in August 2011, and received my Kindle Fire (preordered), on November 15th.
    I’ve found that in two careers(Red Cross Safety Program Director, for 20 years, in three different states and teaching high school Earth Science for 17 years in one state) that you cannot make everyone happy all the time. What I have seen has been very helpful. And please, always remember that reinforcing what you say by repeating it helps all of us, and reminds us what’s really IMPORTANT…!!!! When we’re new to an idea, or we haven’t used used it for awhile, repeating it is really important. Take it for what it’s worth from someone who has taught others for over 37 years. You’re doing a great job. Keep up the good work….!!!!

Leave a Reply

