Dark Quarry – Free from Amazon Kindle Store

Dark Quarry by David H. Fears is free today from the Amazon Kindle store, and you can pick up your free copy by clicking here or typing in http://amzn.to/rBpRou into your computer’s web browser.

Category: Mystery

Here is the book’s description from the Amazon website:

Alaska State Trooper Liam Campbell, demoted and reassigned to the remote bush town of Dive into this, the first in the “Dark” series of Mike Angel, Private Investigator mysteries, set in the New York/New Jersey and Chicago areas in 1960. If you like complex plots, soul-tortured protagonists, and suspense, you’ll be hooked by this series. The first volume is historical fiction, involving names and places connected with remnants of the infamous Purple Gang of the 1930s. Suspense, seduction and even some suupernatural elements are involved, though this is more of a mystery series in the vein of Chandler, Spillane, Hammett.

Burdened by the unsolved murder of his father, a career NYPD lieutenant whose “voice” warns whenever danger is near, 30-year-old Mike Angel is a Korean vet and bored private investigator of insurance fraud. When a wealthy ex-college buddy hires him to tail Joe Ambler, a petty blackmailer, Mike fixates on Kimbra, the blackmailer’s woman, a stunning beauty who commits murder. Mike impulsively helps her dispose of the body and finds himself on the wrong side of the law.
Mike then discovers the dead man was the grandson of a feared and legendary mob leader, founder of Detroit’s Purple Gang of the 1920s and 30s, possibly still alive. The same week, a well-dressed thug comes looking for Ambler, and the wealthy buddy who hired Mike runs off with Kimbra and is murdered in the Bahamas.

Kimbra disappears. While searching for her Mike stumbles across connections to the Russian-Cuban branch of the ring responsible for a string of unsolved murders in three states. The discovery leads to a chain of events and a frame up. Mike is convicted of murder, and is sent to the federal prison at Trenton, where the warden enlists him in a jailbreak with a hardened criminal with ties to the Purple gang. After Mike escapes, he is helped by an attractive but single-minded newspaper woman, Heddy McBright, one of several females who crowd his nighttime thoughts.

Mike locates the witness and evidence that will clear him, and discovers the frame and the escape were both setups. After a shootout, a crooked judge yanks Mike’s investigator’s license so he moves to Chicago to follow leads to the Purple gang. He sets up an office and is helped by Molly Bennett who becomes his main love interest and a major character in the series, along with retired Rick Anthony, Mike’s late father’s partner on the NYPD, who becomes Mike’s partner. Mikes struggles with alcohol and commitment to Molly, and is sidetracked on his attempts to nail the kingpin of the gang.

Seduction, deception, murders, shootouts, and crooked officials take Mike on a dangerous mission to the final showdown at Russian mob headquarters outside the small town of Mattoon, Illinois, where he hopes to discover who killed his father and save the life of Nika, a woman he has fallen for. You may have quite a few laughs at Mike’s sarcasm and approach throughout.

Want to have this blog sent wirelessly to your Kindle vs. reading it on your computer? Try out the free two-week subscription!  Click here for the Amazon page for Free Kindle Books Plus a Few Other Tips.

Check out our Facebook page and give us a “like” by clicking here or typing in http://www.facebook.com/fkbooksandtips into your computer’s web browser!

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under Free Book Links, Free From Amazon Store

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s