Results of the Kindle Fire Poll

On Friday, I threw out a little informal poll in an effort to see what the interest level is in the new Kindle Fire.  I was surprised by the number of participants in the poll, as I conducted it via a free survey tool on Facebook (I love free), and many of you are not Facebook users and would have had to register in order to participate in the poll.  Many of you also provided comments on your thoughts, as well as a few questions, regarding the latest addition to the Kindle family / tablet wars.

You can see the entire results and comments from this poll if you click here or type in http://on.fb.me/oHV199 into your computer’s web browser.  The question I asked was “Aare you planning on purchasing / have you pre-ordered the new Amazon Kindle Fire?”

If you don’t want to click over to the poll results, here are the results of this three-day poll:

   

Number

 

%

         
Yes – absolutely!  

54

 

11%

Already placed my pre-order  

110

 

22%

Thinking about it  

153

 

31%

No – not interested  

73

 

15%

No – have too many gadgets  

23

 

5%

No – absolutely no!  

29

 

6%

Not sure yet  

50

 

10%

What’s a Fire?  

9

 

2%

         
   

501

 

100%

 

If you summarize the responses above, it looks like this:

   

Number

 

%

         
Yes  

164

 

33%

No  

125

 

25%

Not sure  

212

 

42%

         
   

501

 

100%

 

For the 9 people who voted “What’s a Fire?” here is a link to see it on the Amazon website: http://amzn.to/kindlefiretablet

I think some of the comments under the poll were interesting as well as what many people emailed to me.  Most of the “no” folks appear to be (a) waiting for a 3G version as this first Fire is WiFi-only, or (b) are disappointed they can’t get one as they live outside of the USA.  Others were hoping to receive one for Christmas.

Anyway, that’s about all of the commentary I can provide – you can judge the results and comments for yourself vs. me trying to interpret it for you!

Michael

Want to have this blog sent wirelessly to your Kindle vs. reading it on your computer? Try out the free two-week subscription!  Click here for the Amazon page for Free Kindle Books Plus a Few Other Tips.

Looking for more or a reliable source of free books for your Kindle?  Click here for my “Free Kindle Books and How to Find Them book (updated September 2011).

 

4 Comments

Filed under Misc. and Random Stuff

4 responses to “Results of the Kindle Fire Poll

  1. Vicki

    I didn’t take the poll, but you can add me as one who has pre-ordered. It will make a nifty birthday present for my significant other! (which I, of course, will purloin at every opportunity)

  2. Carl

    Hi Michael,

    I would have liked to have responded to your recent poll, but have no desire to sign-up/register for Facebook. I very much appreciate your blog.

    Best regards,
    Carl

  3. c carlson

    I have a question concerning the Fire. I understand apps must be from Amazon so I checked out what was available. Are all of those listed available for the fire, or will it need specials ones? Any idea on how many will be offered for it?

    • Michael Gallagher

      You kow, your guess is as good as mine – right now, we are all in a “wait and see” mode until the device is officially out and in the hands of consumers. Right now, there appear to be more unanswered questions.

Leave a Reply

