Based Upon Your Feedback…

I thought I would peck out a few things about my request for feedback on the formatting of the free book offers on the blog.  Based upon quite a few email and blog entry responses, I heard:

  • Keep it the way it has been (i.e., no changes).
  • Go to a summarized format where I just put the title, author, customer rating, genre, and a link.
  • Keep it the way it has been, but put something on the post indicating what the genre is.

I’m probably going to go with option #3 – if you read the blog on the web page, you’ll probably be saying “you’ve always done that.”  That’s true – if you read the blog on the web vs. your Kindle, for example, you will see the various genre categories you can click on to see more.

However, 90% of the folks who read this blog do so on their Kindles and they can’t see those categories.  So, in an effort to make it easier to review each day, I will have the name of the book, the author’s name, the customer rating (if there is one), a link to the book, and the book’s description.  However, in between the link to the book and the book’s description I will also tell you the genre of the book according to how it is listed at Amazon.  Sometimes there isn’t one listed on the Kindle page: if that happens, I will do my best to get it right (in other words, I am going to make a guess).

Please bear with me as we go forward, as I’ve basically been typing the same introduction for a few years now and I might forget here and there!

For all of you who replied back with your comments, I appreciate your feedback!

Regards,

Michael

23 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

23 responses to “Based Upon Your Feedback…

  1. Mary O

    You are doing an awesome job! Thanaks for all you do. Can’t wait for my Kindle Fire.

    Mary O

  2. alice schuckenbrock

    Keep it the way it has always been.

  3. milla

    I’m keen on the third option. I prefer to get as much information as I can from your posts 🙂

  4. JUST A THANK YOU FOR ALL THE INFO YOU ALWAYS GIVE US FOR OUR KINDLE!

  5. Judy Miller

    This is a great decision! Now I’ll have all the information I need to opt in on a free book when I read your blog on my Kindle. This blog has been growing and emerging in a great way since I began reading in 2009.

  6. dmosier

    I agree…I would like Genre, or maybe even publisher…but I still like the description of the book…that is helpful also.

    Thanks, and keep up the great work! We like FB too!

  7. Lisa B

    Option 3! I like how you have posted new books. The only change I would suggest is to list genre when you have .ultiple new books to post and don’t include descriptions..

  8. Linda

    Thanks, Michael! I do so appreciate your work on our behalf!

  9. angela

    I would really like to know what the pre-free digital price is when you list the books. This would help me determine the really big bargins and wether I should jump on downloading the book beforfe Amazon takes it away.

    • Michael Gallagher

      Angela-

      You can see what the regular digital price is, as well as the paper copy (if there is a paper option), on the book’s Kindle page.

      Regards,

      Michael

  10. Lynda M.

    I appreciate your postings of free books no matter how you do them. That’s what much of my library is made up of.

  11. seadog

    Dont censor what we read thats free, if its an x rated book post it and let us decide.

  12. Jan McCoy

    Thank you for all your help in posting all the free and inexpensive books for my Kindle ap. on my iPad and iPhone. I read 2 at a time, one when I am mobile and the other when I am staying home. I love the books. I do like the idea of sorting by genre. That will be very helpful. Thanks again.

  13. I like everything you do however you do it!I guess I did this twice.!!

  14. Any way you decide to do it, it is much appreciated!

  15. Donna

    Thank You, Michael, this is great news!

  16. Patricia

    I would go with #3. You do such a great job and it is much appreciated.

  17. Carol

    I really appreciate all the time and effort you put into this website, letting people know about free Kindle books. I don’t own a kindle, but I have the Kindle app for my iPod and also my Pan Digital Novel. I want to specifically give you a thanks for listing the genre of books, in particular that they are Christian fiction. Downloading something tagged “Christian” isn’t always foolproof, but as a rule, I have a better chance of getting material without swear words or bed scenes, and a book appropriate to share with my pre-teen granddaughter. She’s an avid reader. It’s also fair to note just because it is tagged “Christian” doesn’t mean there won’t be doctrinal issues, but I’d rather deal with those than the constant battering of my psyche with offending vocabulary. I am still enjoying the books you told us about weeks ago that had a comic a day. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that there will be more of the same to come in the future. I’m a sucker for comics. So again, thank you, thank you, thank you.

  18. Patricia

    Thank you for all the time and effort you put in to informing and guiding us in making our choices.

Leave a Reply

