Random Kindle Thoughts and Answers to Your Emails

It looks like I need to clarify something – when I had my answers to email post on Friday afternoon, and answered the question about a potential page number application, either I misunderstood the question or many of you misunderstood my reply: yes, I do know on some Kindle books you can see the corresponding page number if you push the “Menu” key.  I interpreted the question of is there an app you can purchase that will automatically put the page number on each and every book (which there is not).  If the publisher has coded that functionality into a Kindle book version, it will show up if you push the “Menu” key.

Here is a question I received from Alice:

I am a subscriber to your blog and truly enjoy the posts.  I am a Kindle newbie and would like information on audio books.  Are these ever free and do you ever address this topic on your blog?

I haven’t addressed free audio books for your Kindle, although they do exist in mp3 format – I, for one, am not someone who appreciates having a book read to you as I prefer reading it to myself: I get too distracted when someone is reading to me.

Here’s a question I received from Maureen:

I need to know if the emergency USB charger you cited in the blog can be used with the Kindle 2. I have had mine since 2009 and am very dependent upon it for reading as I am old and losing my eyesight. Thank heavens the Kindle allows me to change the type size! It made it possible for me to read again without a magnifying glass!!! I need it so much!  And as I live in Florida and this is hurricane season I could use a way to survive the storms. We are going to get a generator which will even power the AC and my medical apparatus, but didn’t have the money in time for an installation before the season.

The USB charger Maureen is referencing can be seen if you click here or type in http://amzn.to/m6XQrd in to your computer’s web browser.  In answer to your question, yes, it can be used on a Kindle 2.  I’ve used it on a Kindle 2 and 3, my Droid phone, my kid’s iPod, and (gasp) my wife’s iPad.  If it has a USB charging cord, this thing can charge it – although this version, using just two “AA” batteries, has a small battery capability.  It is, however, good for one to two devices, and one set of AA batteries is more than enough to fully charge my Kindle 3.  With a total price, including shipping, of $4.5o, I think this is a pretty good deal – I have three of them.

I also have what I call a “super duper” USB charger made by Sanyo that is charged from a wall socket, and it is pricey at $79 – but it can charge a lot before needing to be recharged itself (my record is two Kindles, two phones, and half a charge on an iPad before going dry) – you can see the kind I have if you click here or type in http://amzn.to/oHHt0M into your computer’s web browser.

Why so many chargers?  Well, after not having power for almost a week after Hurricane Ike a few years ago I would rather be redundant in my charging capability vs. not having any power at all.

Stephanie had this question:

I love your FKBT blog and have it delivered to my email inbox every day. I can stay on top of the updates so much better this way because I often forgot to check in with my subscriptions when I had them and missed freebies. Is there a way I can subscribe to your new Kindle Bucks for a Buck blog on WordPress too? Thanks!

You can signup for the new blog by first pointing your computer’s web browser to http://ebooksforabuck.wordpress.com/ then fill in your email address on the right-hand side of the page.  After you do that and push the “Sign Me Up!” button, you will need to check your email and reply back to the confirmation message: the server sends a confirmation message you have to reply to in order to make sure we’re not spamming anyone.

Alternatively,you can  click here or type in http://amzn.to/kb4abuck into your computer’s web browser to receive it on your Kindle – you get a two week trial period for free but after that Amazon will charge you $1.99 per month, primarily to cover their delivery fees.

And, finally, here is an email I received from Taft L. that made me feel good – you’re never too old to use a Kindle and here’s a plug for each of you to check with your local library to see if they support loaning books in the Kindle format (more and more do each week):

We oldsters (my age 84) don’t switch to new electronics as easily or as quickly as the younger generations but I finally decided to try a kindle, even with some reservations about cost.  We have a great local library and I usually borrow (free of course) about 12 new non-fiction titles each month, and so I really worried about having to buy the same amount of books from kindle.  I knew kindle had the sample system that would help some, but not completely.  Then I accidently came across your blog with references to free books, low cost books, and the Sunshine collection, and that has really helped.  Although I am fortunate in having good eye sight, it is easier to read the kindle then it is with most of the print books.  Each day I look forward to getting your blogs and so I wanted to thank you for your help in making my reading experiences more enjoyable.  My local library tells me that sometime before the end of the year they expect to be able to loan out kindle ebooks. 

 

Have a great rest of your weekend-

Michael

Want to have this blog sent wirelessly to your Kindle vs. reading it on your computer? Try out the free two-week subscription!  Click here for the Amazon page for Free Kindle Books Plus a Few Other Tips.

Looking for more or a reliable source of free books for your Kindle?  Click here for my “Free Kindle Books and How to Find Them book (updated September 2011).

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Kindle Tips, Misc. and Random Stuff

Leave a Reply

