Random Kindle Thoughts and Answers to Your Email

It’s that normal time of the week where I’m staring at unanswered email…for new (and continuing) readers of the blog, understand I do get behind on replying via email.  Small things like chasing two kids to different activities, the job, and sometimes sleep do get in the way.  As a result, I periodically answer emails in one big post – typically those that are asked many times over the last week or so: my thought process is if several of you took the time to send me an email about something, that usually means more of you have the same question.

I also tend to ramble here and there…

If you would like to write to me, my email address is kindle at gagler dot com – I type it that way in a small effort to avoid the spam robots who harvest emails off of web pages.

I receive questions about the “Collections” feature on the Kindle quite a bit.  Here is a question from Brenda:

Hi Michael –
I have subscribed to your blog for about a year and really enjoy it.
I know you did a great post in the past on transferring Kindle content from an ‘old’ Kindle to a ‘new’ Kindle.  Can you point me to that posting?

(In my case I’m transferring from a K3 to a K3.)

The posting Brenda is referring to was written in September of 2010 and is the most popular page on the blog (in number of page views).  This post is rather long and is about the “Collections” feature, and is broken up into two parts. The first section is for the experienced Kindlers who already know about Collections and want to transfer them over to their new K3; the second is a general review of what a collection is and how to establish them on your new Kindle – which might be handy to those of you who have upgraded from your K1 to either a new K3 or the many used K2’s that are on the market.  You can see this post if you click here or type in http://bit.ly/fDZSA9 into your computer’s web browser.

Here’s a question I received a couple of times this week, and here is one of the emails from James:

A friend was telling me that Amazon had an app to download to your Kindle that would put page numbers at the bottom of the page.  Have you heard anything about this?  It would be beneficial to me as I could tell someone to look at page XXX instead of xxxx% read.  BTW, I enjoy your blog.

This must be an Internet legend, or I missed a major press release from Amazon; in other words, I’ve never heard of it, although the concept is intriguing.  I don’t know how a developer would program it, however, as I would imagine he / she would have to have a typeset version of each book on hand as a “proof” copy, as you couldn’t guesstimate as each publisher uses different fonts and font sizes.  Additionally, just because something is on page 72 in the hardback version doesn’t mean it will also be on page 72 of the paper version (in order to translate to some type of Kindle pagination).

I’ve never really paid too much attention to page numbers since I got out of school, and I suspect if you stop and think about it many of you haven’t, either.  I do pay attention to chapter number in a lot of things, and it does annoy me from time-to-time when an active / linked table of contents is not in a Kindle version of a non-fiction or business book (I don’t care when it comes to fiction, just give me the story).

What are your thoughts?  Drop me a line and let me know.

In a post a few weeks ago, someone asked me how to make the Kindle font darker or lighter.  I replied back you couldn’t do it – that answer is true, but several of you wrote me back to say if you change the default font it looks a little darker on your screens.  After giving it a try, I agree to some extent – although it didn’t make it too different in my one-time experiment: your results may vary.  Here’s a recommendation emailed to me on the matter:

I subscribe to your daily free books and love it. You received an email from Sheri W concerning the light print and how to make it darker. With my having a serious love for finding “what makes my gadgets tick” I decided to check it out. If you click on the “Aa” button that takes you to the Kindle Screen Typeset, adjust the font size to the third Aa from the right, adjust the typeface to sans serif, it does seem a bit darker. Hope that works for her. Thanks for all the wonderful free books, and all the info, you send daily. I always look so forward to seeing what’s new. Your worth far more than the .99 cents I pay monthly.

 

 Kathy H.

Chattanooga, TN

 

Speaking of the 99 cents per month (thanks for the kind words, Kathy), several of you questioned why you should continue to pay the 99 cents if you are also on the Facebook page / version of the blog or you read the blog on your computer.  The easy answer is “I don’t know.”  That’s an individual choice – I’m not going to get rich and be able to quit my job and work in my underwear from home, the ensuing visual should make most of you shudder, and be a professional blogger (plus I would probably go nuts being at home all day). 

Of the 99 cents you pay Amazon for multiple times per day Kindle-delivery of the blog, I get 30 cents or one cent per day.  The Kindle delivery is instantaneous – the Facebook posting is a manual exercise I have to do and sometimes I am several hours behind.

In other words, it would take a heck of a lot of you to be able to pay the mortgage, let alone health insurance, food, gas, and shoes for kids with never-ending growing feet.

Speaking of the Facebook page, we broke the 2,000 “like” barrier earlier this week, and there is a running dialogue between the members and (many time) me with tip sharing, etc.  Why not give it a look?  You can check it out by clicking here or typing in http://www.facebook.com/fkbooksandtips into your computer’s web browser.  While you’re there, why not click the “Like” button at the top of the page?

While you’re there, you will see my caricature on the left-hand side of the page.  Click on it as I’d love to accept your friend request!

Okay, switching gears here….about two dozen of you wanted the link to the Kindle Daily Deal.  Bookmark this link, and check it each day as you might find something you’ve been waiting for: http://amzn.to/kddeal

Today’s Daily Deal is A Thousand Tomorrow’s by Karen Kingsbury, which has an average user rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars based on 50 customer reviews – it’s normally $6.99 and is priced at $1.99 for today only.

And, no, I have no inside information on what tomorrow’s Daily Deal will be!  Hit the link above tomorrow to check it out!

If you’ve read this far – congratulations!  I hope each of you have a great weekend!

Regards,

Michael

 

Want to have this blog sent wirelessly to your Kindle vs. reading it on your computer? Try out the free two-week subscription!  Click here for the Amazon page for Free Kindle Books Plus a Few Other Tips.

Follow, tweet, or retweet this blog to all of your friends.  Click here or type in http://twitter.com/fkbt into your web browser and I’ll see you on Twitter!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Kindle Tips, Misc. and Random Stuff

Leave a Reply

