Rambling Blog Post Plus a Kindle Tip

Well, it’s Monday afternoon on a Labor Day holiday here in the USA…I hope each of you have been able to get some time off and enjoy the extra day!

 

Kindle Daily Deal

I posted about the Kindle Daily Deal a few weeks ago, but in case you missed it here is a quick summary: each day, for a 24 hour period only, Amazon will severely discount a Kindle book.  Each day’s offering is different, and I have no special insight on what will be offered from one day to the next.  Today’s daily deal eBook is called The Grove by John Rector, and Amazon has it listed for $1.99 vs. yesterday’s price of $7.99.  I read this one about a year or so ago, and thought it was pretty good.

Bookmark this link, and check it each day as you might find something you’ve been waiting for: http://amzn.to/kddeal

 

Facebook Page

Some of you noticed I changed the URL of the Facebook page – I did, to make it easier (actually, I forgot to set up the “easier” link last month).  You can check it out by clicking here or typing in http://www.facebook.com/fkbooksandtips into your computer’s web browser.  While you’re there, why not click the “Like” button at the top of the page?

Why should you do that?  Well, the easy answer is if you are a heavy or medium Facebook user, you can see this blogs posts a little faster followed by being able to click on the free book links right then and there before you forget about it and the free book offer goes away.

A better answer is I’m trying to solicit your favorite Kindle tips or shortcuts in a status update yesterday that you use on one of the message threads – I am certain there are 1,001 or more tips and tricks I am unaware of, and I think it would be neat for all of us to share.  I’m also considering a Facebook-only promotion this fall (hint: there is a rumor of a new Kindle tablet coming out in October), and I don’t want you to miss it.

Tempted yet?  Maybe not, but if you change your mind just click here or go to http://www.facebook.com/fkbooksandtips

 

Archive Tip

Speaking of tips, I am frequently asked if I keep copies of the books I have completed on my Kindle or if I delete them and, if I delete them, why?

The short answer is I delete them, and it’s not to save space on the Kindle.  While I am certain it has happened, I have not heard of anyone running out of capacity on their Kindles.  Of course, each Kindle has a finite amount of storage on it, including the capacity of a K1 which allowed you to put an SD card in it to increase storage, so of course I am sure someone, somewhere, has run out of capacity.  I would imagine if you load up your Kindle with mp3’s to listen to while you read, etc. that could happen.  On the other hand, if you are running up against the capacity limits, why not just delete the book from your Kindle after you have read it?  That’s what I do, as after I finish a book I rarely re-read something for at least several years.

There are third-party programs such as Calibre which will assist you in storing your Kindle content on your computer, and Amazon also stores an electronic copy of your purchases (for free), and will re-download them for free to your Kindle anytime you want.  The only thing I don’t like about Amazon doing that is when an author makes an update to a book – either a slightly different version, corrected some typos, formatting, etc. – Amazon will re-download the exact same copy you purchased previously and not the updated copy.  That’s a small problem with some of the independent author books as they go back and do the proofing they should have done in the first place (I’m guilty of that as an author, too) and, rather than having a brand new book they just update a revised / corrected copy.

Anyway, enough of my side rant about the corrected copies….

My personal opinion is you should delete a book from your Kindle after you have read it.  Why?  Your Kindle is a mini-computer, and when a computer’s hard drive fills up it starts to run slower.  Your pages will start turning slightly slower, which happened on my K2 after I loaded up a lot of music on it as an experiment.

With a lot of books on it your Kindle is also indexing the pages, which bogs down the computer’s processing speed until all of the books are indexed.

However, my #1 reason for deleting books off of my Kindle after I have read them is this: my digital “to be read” pile at any one point in time is 100 – 150 books.  I only want to focus in on the ones I have not read.  If you think of digital books in relation to paper books, deleting an electronic book after reading it is like moving the paper book from the “to be read” stack to a formal bookshelf (books I like I keep, books I didn’t like I send off to Half Price Books or sell online).  With the books stored electronically on Amazon’s servers, it is like my bookshelf at home – I can still “see” them on my Kindle, and can pull them off of the shelf, “dust” them off, and start reading immediately.  The better thing with an electronic book is I can literally be anywhere in the world and dust off that book and start reading it again vs. an out-of-town scenario, stuck in a hotel room, and wanting to re-read Stephen King’s Under the Dome (a very good book) or something similar (which would be a very bulky book to lug around in the suitcase or laptop bag.

There are several ways to re-download a book to your Kindle, and I am not going to cover them all here, but I do it one method is using your Kindle, or the Kindle you want to transfer the book to – assuming the other Kindle is on your account.  There are also several ways to do this on your Kindle, but here is how I do it:

  • Press the “Home” button.
  • I have my books organized by collections (which means I only have two to three pages to scroll through at any one time).  I will push the next page button until I reach the last page.
  • The last line-item on my display, as sorted by collections, is a line-item called “Archived Items” followed by a number in parentheses.  That number is the total number of books archived on the Amazon website: consider that your digital bookshelf.  Scroll down and highlight this line item and select it: with my K3, I can select it by pushing the middle button of the five-way controller.
  • You now will have a list of all of your digital bookshelf.  You can scroll down or page turn until you find the book.  My Archived Items are sorted by title, and in the example I gave you above of Stephen King’s Under the Dome, that would be toward the end of the list.  I have over 50 pages of archived content, and I don’t want to push the next page button that many times, so I will search for it in the next couple of steps.
  • To search for it, from this same screen, I just type in a few letters of the title.  In this case, I will type in the word “Under” (without the quotes around it) then press the enter button.
  • That wasn’t a good search topic as it returned 14 pages of books with the word “Under” in it.  I can either scroll along until I find it, or type in a different term.  I am going to search by the author’s name, so I will type in “Stephen King” (without the quotes around it) followed by the enter key.
  • I have eight books by Stephen King in my Archived Items / digital bookshelf.  I will then scroll down and highlight Under the Dome with my five-way controller, then press the middle button of my five-way controller to initiate the download process.
  • I received a message saying the download would complete, and the book would appear on my home page when the download is complete.

I just walked through that step with my K3 in front of me.  I thought this was extremely fast: my wireless router is upstairs on the opposite end of the house in a closet, and I am using a WiFi connection – it took nine seconds for the book to download and appear on the home page.

Anyway, enough rambling for now!

Regards,

Michael

Want to have this blog sent wirelessly to your Kindle vs. reading it on your computer? Try out the free two-week subscription!  Click here for the Amazon page for Free Kindle Books Plus a Few Other Tips.

Check out our Facebook page and give us a “like” by clicking here or typing in http://www.facebook.com/fkbooksandtips into your computer’s web browser!

Leave a comment

Filed under Kindle Tips

Leave a Reply

