Special Message for Subscribers in the Northeast USA

Here’s just a quick message for those of you living in the Northeast awaiting the arrival of the hurricane: be safe, and I hope you are prepared with bottled water, batteries, a couple of days’ worth of food you won’t need electricity to prepare, and as many of your electronic devices charged up as possible.

One thing I’ve learned living in Houston is when the power goes out for a while due to these storms, or even the threat of them, is cellular service can be overwhelmed and you can’t make or receive a call on your cell phone.  Don’t forget text messaging uses different frequencies – when Hurricane Ike hit Houston a few years ago the power was out for days here (and weeks in other neighborhoods), for about a week cell service was spotty.  However, we could nearly always communicate with others via text messaging due to the different frequency.

I hope the power isn’t out for long, but it might.  If it does, turn your Kindle’s wireless off as it will conserve the battery and you can read for days – that’s what I did while waiting for the power and the repair team to fix the hole in my roof.  Stay safe, you’re in our prayers, and we will still be here once all of this passes!

Regards,

Michael

11 Comments

Filed under Misc. and Random Stuff

11 responses to “Special Message for Subscribers in the Northeast USA

  1. Great message Michael! As a fellow Houstonian, I echo all that you said. Prayers are with our greater community up North!

  2. Thanks – what with everything else, I forgot about charing my Kindle.

  3. Karen

    That was very kind and thoughtful. Thank you!

  4. Laurie Kissee

    This is just a REALLY nice post! I work in the medical field, and am often dismayed at how people treat each other! And to see someone take time out of their (probably) busy schedule to send a message like this is heartwarming.

  5. Thanks for that helpful post. I didn’t know that about texting vs. calling so that is good to know. I know the wireless being off conserves the battery life, but I may have forgotten to actually turn it off since I have my grandkids for the weekend so thanks for that reminder too!

    Thanks for all you do and God bless!

    Lori Whitty – Maine USA 🙂

  6. Jack

    Thanks Michael. We live in Kill Devil Hills and evacuated Friday afternoon (with our Kindle of course). We’re hoping fervently that our home survives Irene.

  7. Thanks for the tip. I have family up and down the Eastern seaboard and will pass this info along to them. You’ve given us one less thing to worry about.

    Bob – Massachusetts

  8. Heather Shockley

    I am on the East Coast, and I would like to say THANK YOU for that very thoughful message. I suggested to all my fellow Kindlers on the East Coast this week that whatever important documents they need when they evacuate, and lists of meds for all parties involved, be scanned into pdf documents so they could transfer them to their Kindles. Every person I know that has evacuated already took their Kindle… and my suggestion… with them.
    Heather ~ Delmar, Delaware

  9. Jeannine Laughlin Porter

    As a Katrina survior, I understand your situation! Will be thinking and praying for you. Wish I had had my Kindle to pass the time. Jeannine (Mississippi)

  10. Shannon

    Thank you! My kin was the first thing to go on the charger. Hatches have been battened here on the shoreline in CT, saying prayers that we all make it through this thing!

Leave a Reply

