More Kindle Email Questions Answered

It’s time for more question and answers…

The first is an email I received from Cathy, with a reminder of something I should have clarified in a previous post on email to your Kindle (click here or type in http://bit.ly/pu7WOA into your computer’s web browser in case you missed it or want to see it again):

Hi Michael,

Thanks for all the helpful hints and especially the free book notices! I check your blog every day.

Regarding sending emails to Kindles, if you put the word “free” in the kindle email address, you won’t be charged; for example, yourname@free.kindle.com . Also, if you are emailing an attached PDF file to yourself, if you put the word “convert” in the subject line of the email, it will be converted to Kindle format, and then all the perks of Kindle reading will work (dictionary, font size, etc.).

Thanks again for your great blog!

Oops, I should have clarified all of that!

Here’s a question from W. Dacey:

Several days ago you posted a letter from a subscriber, re:  a covering for the keypad on the kindle – could you please let me know what it is called and where I can purchase it – I didn’t save the info and would like to get one.

If you missed that post, you can click here or type in http://bit.ly/mYyKSU into your computer’s web browser.  The cover is called a “nokey.”

Here is a question from Diane:

I cannot begin to tell you how much I enjoy your blog.  I check it twice a day to see if there are any new books listed or what great advice you are dispensing.  I have been waiting to see if you had an answer to my situation and haven’t seen so here goes.  I signed in to three or four different blogs to see what they are like [bad idea] and how I can figure out how to cancel the really lame ones.  Can you tell me how to get rid of them.  Thanks and keep up the great job.

If you ever want to cancel a blog subscription – hopefully not this one – it is pretty easy to do.  From the Amazon webpage, just click on the “Manage Your Kindle” link on the top right hand section of their web page.  You can manage all of your subscriptions from there, if you click on the ”Blogs” section of the Manage Your Kindle webpage.

If you are thinking of cancelling your subscription to this blog, please drop me a line at kindle at gagler dot com – I’d love to know why, especially if it is something I can improve!

Want to have this blog sent wirelessly to your Kindle vs. reading it on your computer? Try out the free two-week subscription!  Click here for the Amazon page for Free Kindle Books Plus a Few Other Tips.

Click here for my “Kindle Tips, Tricks, and Shortcuts” book (updated June 2011).

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Kindle Tips

Leave a Reply

