Your Kindle Email Questions Answered

Okay, I will preface this post with I am setting it up in advance – my family and I are going to take a short vacation for a few days for the first time in over a year: sorry, Dad (he reads this blog from time-to-time), family get-togethers for Christmas and Thanksgiving do not count as a vacation! While I will have my ever-present laptop with me, I am going to try and not incur the wrath of my wife and kids as much as I usually do.

It is time for a cold adult beverage and sitting out in the sun trying to make my pale white skin a little darker – yes, I have huge digital to-be-read pile on my Kindle I am going to wade through and whittle down a bit.  Needless to say, I am going to set other posts up in advance and I might not be as quick to tell you about the free book offers on a rapid-fire basis:  I think most of you will understand!

I thought I would take this time to answer some email in a public forum – these are the questions I get multiple times, and I figure if several of you have the same theme of question that means even more of you do, also.  If you would like to write to me, my email address is kindle at gagler dot com (I write it that way in a small effort to try and thwart the spammers).

The first question comes from Shirlie:

For some time, I’ve been meaning to send my thanks for your blog.  I download many of the free books you review and I really enjoy the many tips.  I do have a question.  To save your tips, I have created a file on my computer and save them there after finding them on my computer.  The highlighter doesn’t seem to work on my Kindle with your blog so that was the only way I have been able to save them.  Is there an easier method? 

To start off, I really don’t like the Kindle highlighter and making a clipping, then grabbing the USB cord to transfer it over to my computer, then copy / cut and paste over to Microsoft Word.  While I am sure there are 99 other ways to do it via your Kindle, that’s the way I know and it is a pain in the neck.  As a result, I rarely use the feature.  Then again, I rarely highlighted or marked various passages in the paper books I used to read in the pre-Kindle days, which was one of the many contributing factors to my low GPA in school: however, that is certainly a story for another day (and different themed blog).

In answer to Shirlie’s question, the easiest way is to go directly to the blog on the web.  You can do that by pointing your web browser to www.fkbt.wordpress.com – from there, you can see all of the posts I have ever written for this blog, including the various tips, free book offers, and the occasional rant.

If you do go to the website and peruse the free book offers for both Amazon and non-Amazon sites, please be sure to check and make sure the book is still free before you click on the Amazon “buy” button, unless you don’t care about purchasing it!  Just because it was free at one point in time doesn’t mean it will be free forever…

Here’s a quick tip I saw on a Kindle discussion board last week (I can’t remember which one) that I am using – it might be handy for many of you:

By using my WiFi Kindle and an on-line TV listing (like ZapToIt) I have a constantly updating TV guide for my coffee table. It lets me browse what’s coming up in the next few hours on TV.

Here are two questions from barb:

Hi Michael,

First — thanks for your tips – I just got another one today for free that was on my Wish List (for $9.99)!

Where do I go to see what other folks are posting regarding your Blog?  I know I’m missing something, but don’t see how to get to the messages posted.

Also, I know you go to Settings to set the Time of Day.  Is there a way to get it to show the time on your screen (like the Nooks do?).

Thanks again!

Barb

I’m glad to see some of the freebies are something people have been wanting on their wish lists, especially if it saves them ten bucks!

The fact is, not too many people are posting replies to the blog – I do get a lot of spam advertising all sorts of vile stuff (which I delete after chuckling at who in the world orders this stuff that makes it profitable to keep the spam machine running) – but not that many people posts comments.  I do welcome them, so if you want to comment please feel free to give it a shot: I do hold all comments for moderation to make sure nothing obscene gets posted.

To review the comments, and similar to the first question above, just point your web browser to www.fkbt.wordpress.com and peruse the posts.  If someone left a comment I approved, it will be at the bottom of the post.

As far as the second question, to check the time on your Kindle there are several ways to do it.  I just hit the “Menu” button to let me know what time it is; usually, I let out a curse as I have once again become so absorbed in a book I lost all sense of time (and it is usually really late).

The last part of this post (if you have read this far) concerns my relatively new blog called Kindle Books for a Buck or Less; this blog tries to focus in on the independent author – i.e., not a John Grisham, Stephen King, etc. as I believe there is a lot of good fiction out there that is hard to find amidst all of the “noise” on the Internet.

After a little more than a month I am quite pleased to see the number of subscribers where they are as well as the page views from the blog’s website.  I have received several emails of thanks from authors who noticed a spike in their sales as well as positive reviews of their books by readers; many of you have sent the same which makes me feel good, too – I think it is similar to recommending good reads to your friends.

The emails of support have been nice to receive, but there have been a few emailed complaints and negative reviews on the Amazon website due to the pricing of the blog – Kindle Books for a Buck or Less is $1.99 per month vs. the 99 cents per month for this blog.  Please note I, and other blog publishers who make their blogs available on the Amazon Kindle storefront, have absolutely no control over the pricing for blogs: blog pricing is mandated by Amazon.

If you are interested in this blog and haven’t tried it out yet, go ahead as you really have nothing to lose: Amazon gives you the first two weeks to try it out for free.  If you like it during this two week free trial period, great – Amazon will charge you $1.99 each month.  If you don’t like it during the free two week trial period, you can cancel the subscription and you won’t be charged.  To try it out, you can click here or type in Kindle Books for a Buck or Less into your computer’s web browser to give it a shot.

With this blog, I am trying to have just one post per day, with an occasional post on the weekend.  So, if you are hesitant to give the two-week period a free trial, let me do it one better: here are the books I have “showcased” on that blog over the last two and a half weeks:

Death By Honeymoon by Jaden Skye is 99 cents in the Amazon Kindle store, and has received an average user rating of 4 out of 5 stars based on 13 customer reviews. You can pick up your copy by clicking here or typing in http://amzn.to/om8lka into your computer’s web browser.

Jigsaw by Ted Miller Brogden is 99 cents in the Amazon Kindle store, and has received an average user rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars based on 46 customer reviews. You can pick up your copy by clicking here or typing in http://amzn.to/q4Xktq into your computer’s web browser.

Regret by Dan Dawkins is 99 cents in the Amazon Kindle store, and has received an average user rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars based on 11 customer reviews. You can pick up your copy by clicking here or typing in http://amzn.to/nN2LfS into your computer’s web browser.

Forget to Remember by Alan Cook is 99 cents in the Amazon Kindle store, and has received an average user rating of 4 out of 5 stars based on 15 customer reviews. You can pick up your copy by clicking here or typing in http://amzn.to/pJRTPP into your computer’s web browser.

The Second Ship (Book One of the Rho Agenda) by Richard Phillips is 99 cents in the Amazon Kindle store, and has received an average user rating of 4 out of 5 stars based on 255 customer reviews; I’ve read this one and its sequel and thought it was pretty good. You can pick up your copy if you click here or type in http://amzn.to/oAeve2 into your computer’s web browser.

The Old Man and the Wasteland by Nick Cole is 99 cents in the Amazon Kindle store, and has received an average user rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars based on 113 customer reviews; I read this one and thought it was outstanding (I need to write this review, too). You can pick up your copy by clicking here or typing in http://amzn.to/nWkrMM into your computer’s web browser.

Public Enemy Zero by Andrew Mayne is 99 cents in the Amazon Kindle store, and has received an average user rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars based on 60 customer reviews; I read this one, also, and it was hard to put down (I need to write this review, too). You can pick up your copy by clicking here or typing in http://amzn.to/pIlGfX into your computer’s web browser.

The Devil’s Deep by K.C. May is 99 cents in the Amazon Kindle store, and has received an average user rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars based on 86 customer reviews; it is literally zooming up the Amazon bestseller list, also. You can pick up your copy by clicking here or typing in http://amzn.to/poWf1J into your computer’s web browser.

Angel Fire by Lisa Unger is 99 cents in the Amazon Kindle store, and has received an average user rating of 4 out of 5 stars based on 10 customer reviews. You can pick up your copy by clicking here or typing in http://amzn.to/qBj5xu into your computer’s web browser.

Far Away Home by Susan Denning is 99 cents in the Amazon Kindle store, and has received a perfect 5 out of 5 stars based on 16 customer reviews. You can pick up your copy by clicking here or typing in http://amzn.to/n8QfgB into your computer’s web browser.

Hearts Aflame by Johanna Lindsey is 99 cents in the Amazon Kindle store, and has received an average user rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars based on 71 customer reviews. You can pick up your copy by clicking here or typing in http://amzn.to/p0kLx0 into your computer’s web browser.

The Unearthing by Steve Karmazenuk is 99 cents in the Amazon Kindle store, and has received an average user rating of 4 out of 5 stars based on 10 customer reviews; I am planning on starting this one while on vacation. You can pick up your copy by clicking here or typing in http://amzn.to/oODski into your computer’s web browser.

The Abbey by Chris Culver is 99 cents in the Amazon Kindle store, and has received an average user rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars based on 13 customer reviews. You can pick up your copy by clicking here or typing in http://amzn.to/nY46iu into your computer’s web browser.

If you made it through this far – whew!  I’ll be back soon with another post-

Michael

Want to have this blog sent wirelessly to your Kindle vs. reading it on your computer? Try out the free two-week subscription!  Click here for the Amazon page for Free Kindle Books Plus a Few Other Tips.

Click here for my “Kindle Tips, Tricks, and Shortcuts” book (updated June 2011).

 

7 Comments

Filed under Kindle Tips

7 responses to “Your Kindle Email Questions Answered

  1. Your latest post about negative comments or not a lot of comments prompted me to comment. I received my Kindle for Christmas from my husband, after talking about how much I wanted one on a VERY regular basis! 😉 Then I subscribed to your blog and it has been wonderful! You have had helpful hints and how to’s as well as a great selection of free books you have found available. For $.99/month, why wouldn’t I want to subscribe! You do the leg work and I just have to read your post and click on the titles that interest me. 🙂 THANK YOU!

    I have also been meaning to post a comment when you are asking what people are reading. Maybe you can just cut and paste this part of my comments in the appropriate place for that if you want to. My sister actually introduced me to an author I hadn’t read yet whose books have been excellent! Her name is Lisa Gardner and I just finished “Live To Tell”, which is one of her D.D. Warren books. The best way to describe her books is this…when you are reading a good book and it’s time to stop for a while, to go to sleep for example LOL, you say to yourself that you need to stop for now and reluctantly you put the book down for the night. If it’s a REALLY good book you wrestle with yourself trying to decide just how much sleep you can get by with and how much longer you can read before you HAVE TO STOP. When it’s a book like Lisa Gardner’s books I have lost a LOT of sleep! I know I should stop and pick up again the next day but I just can’t so I have pulled a few all-nighters lately reading a whole book or book and a half from afternoon to the next morning. Her books are that hard to put down and I HIGHLY recommend her, especially the D.D. Warren series. Anyway…sorry to be so long winded and I hope you and your family have a super vacation. We just had ours last week…camping in the “willy wags” as we call it and having a blast!

    Thanks again for all or your hard work.
    Lori Whitty

  2. D.

    As the wife of a man who is almost always attached to a computer (or other electronic device), I encourage you to leave your laptop at home and enjoy your family vacation! Your faithful blog followers will be here when you return, but you must keep this in mind: Happy wife, happy life! 🙂 Thank you for all your hard work. Now, go spend time with your family! 😉
    Donna

  3. I like to read your Free Books and Tips blog on my laptop. I just find that it’s much quicker and easier to navigate back and forth between the blog and Amazon to download the books. Do you have a WordPress (or other) blog that I don’t have to use the Kindle to access for the Kindle Books for a Buck or Less?

  4. Just wanted to point out The Devil’s Deep is by Michael Wallace not K.C. May. I was searching by name in the Kindle Store on my Kindle and had trouble finding it.

Leave a Reply

