Sunday Evening Kindle Questions and Answers

In terms of the number of page views, yesterday’s email question and answer post just about set a record for a Saturday.  With that in mind, I decided to do it again – attached are various emails I have received lately.  If you would like to write to me, my email address is kindle at gagler dot com.

Earlier this week, I had a post about the new free game for your Kindle called Every Word: Crossings (it’s still free, click here or type in http://amzn.to/n6LwHS into your computer’s web browser to get it), and I talked about how the letters were rubbing off of my replacement K3, which I had to replace because I rubbed off a lot of the letters playing other games.

Several people wrote to me with a solution, but here is what Laurie from Tomball sent to me:

Hi Michael,

Got your post this morning re: every word.  This was the first game I ever got for my Kindle.  I was addicted to it and was worried about the letters rubbing off. I purchased a skin for it.  Real thin, with five pieces that cover the front and back.  Can’t remember the name but read about it on one of the discussion boards.  It even covers the glass screen so I can clean it if I get food or stuff on it.  It’s great! Problem solved.  The skin has its own letters on the keyboard part.  I thought for sure you’d heard about this one.

Laurie – I have heard of them.  Just do a search in the Amazon Kindle store of a “nokey skin” without the quotes to see a selection, or click here or type in http://amzn.to/nWTwBk into your computer’s web browser for an example.  As I type this, they are $11.95 in the Amazon Kindle store, which seems a lot cheaper than buying a new Kindle.

Regarding a post I had about two weeks ago about librarians possibly being upset with increased lending functionality being available with the Kindle, I received a lot of email; this one from Gina M. said it best:

I enjoy your blog tremendously; it was one of the first items I purchased when I was gifted my Kindle this past May.  I am a librarian, and I must tell you that librarians love the Kindle.  You are missing out on a lot of if you do not go into the library.  As my Kindle is new, I have not yet tried to download an MP3 audiobook file onto my Kindle (never thought of it until today’s blog article) but if you can download music, you certainly can download audiobooks from the free collection at the library.  Most libraries have extensive collections of digital offerings, and come the new year, Overdrive will be carrying Kindle-compatible e-book files. Overdrive Media Console is the software many library systems use to offer their digital collections. Therefore, Kindle users need to know that library materials will be available to them in the very near future.

As for upsetting librarians when they see your Kindle, libraries are well aware of the fact that they need to change with the times in order to remain relevant.  E-readers are the wave of the future, and libraries are finding more and more ways to serve their patrons in a digital world.  Mr. Gallagher, you should go to your local library and offer to teach a Kindle class. Your local library system could keep you busy for months, and it would be a great service to your community. The classes would be packed for an expert like you, and you would be helping libraries to remain the important source of free books they have always been.  And, due to publishers restricting the number of electronic copies of a book that a library can circulate at any given time, your blog will continue to remain important to librarians and all Kindle readers. :D.

Keep up the good work! My Kindle book collection is ever growing thanks to you!

God bless,

Gina M.

I will admit I have thought about conducting a Kindle class, primarily through the evening “Leisure Learning” courses offered in the Houston area; I have not thought of contacting a library directly, but I will give it a shot.  If I do hold a class, who will buy the first round for the after class experience?

Switching gears a little bit, I have received a lot of supportive email about my new blog, Kindle Books for a Buck (or Less).  I really did that one on a whim, to see if anyone would like it, in an effort to focus on the independent author: I can’t tell you how many independent authors I have found on the Kindle where the book was about a buck, and I enjoyed it more than I did the “brand name” authors.  Apparently, judging from the number of people who have tried out the free two-week subscription and then kept that subscription going on to a paid format, many of you like it, too.

I’ve already setup this week’s posts, and some of them are 99 cent books I have read and enjoyed, one of them I have read twice already it was that good; while each and every book I put on there may not be your cup of tea, I’d be willing to bet you will find several that you would like if you give it a shot.  If you would like to try out the free two week subscription, just click here or type in http://amzn.to/kb4abuck into your computer’s web browser.

And, finally, here’s a question from Natalie B.:

Thank you so much for your blog!  I enjoy reading the tips and have downloaded so many free (or nearly free) books and games thanks to you.

Here’s my question… I remember reading that you delete books from your Kindle when you’re done reading them.  I do not… yet.  Maybe when I have more!  I’d like, though, to return the book to the first page when I’m done reading instead of leaving it on the last page I read.  Is there a way to do that?

And a related question… is there a way to go back to the title page or table of contents without searching “table of contents”?

Thanks!
Natalie-

Thanks for the kind words, I appreciate it!

Going back to the beginning of the book is pretty straight-forward, and here is how you do it assuming you are at the end – or any other point – of a book:

  • Click the “Menu” button;
  • Press the middle of your five-way controller on the “Go To” menu option;
  • Move your five-way controller to the “beginning” option and select it.

You should now be at the beginning of the book.

Concerning your second question of getting back to the table of contents, it is the same series of steps:

  • Click the “Menu” button;
  • Press the middle of your five-way controller on the “Go To” menu option;
  • Move your five-way controller to the “table of contents” option and select it.

Note, however, on many eBooks there is not a table of contents; if there is not, the selection will be in a grey font vs. a solid black font.

I hope the above helps some of you!

Michael

Check Out My New Blog “Kindle Books for a Buck (or Less)” by clicking here or typing in http://amzn.to/kb4abuck into your computer’s web browser.

2 Comments

Filed under Free From Amazon Store

2 responses to “Sunday Evening Kindle Questions and Answers

  1. Hi Michael, Thanks for your tips. They are helpful. I have a question about one of the answers. Someone recommended a skin to cover the Kindle. The one you pointed us to was just a plain skin with no letters. The one she wrote about had letters on the keyboard part. I need the letters because mine are wearing off. Do you know of anywhere I could get one like that? Thanks, Crystal

Leave a Reply

